The film Cambodian Son was really powerful. While viewing this film, I felt like I was on the verge of tears at many times. What truly fascinated me about this film was the power that film has on sparking awareness to other people. It is always a particular group of individuals that are targeted in the U.S. who are victims of deportation or other injustices. It is unfair and ironic, that so many people from other countries come to the U.S. to live “the American Dream” and find a country of injustice and rejection. There are standard and social constructions present that are unfavorable for those who come to this country and aren’t fully aware of what they’re getting themselves into.

I also believe that urban neighborhoods are often victim to many injustices. The environment and climate determines a lot of the values, attitudes and beliefs of that particular community. All in all I was in awe of this film. I believe this film brought up many of the same things that other films we’ve seen in class have touched on. In many ways this film is relatable to the suppression and injustices acted upon women; who are also a particular group of individuals.  

